Film Academy of the Philippines determines MA' ROSA as our submission to the Best Foreign Language Film category of the 2017 Academy Awards.

MA' ROSA won the Best Actress award for Jaclyn Jose at this year’s Cannes Film Festival.

The 89th Academy Awards will be held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, on Feb. 26, 2017.

List of nominees for the Oscar Best Foreign Language Film category will be announced on January 24, 2017.

Last year we submitted Heneral Luna.

The 9 shortlisted films are:

  1. Joel Lamangan’s “Felix Manalo,” 
  2. Erik Matti’s “Honor Thy Father,” 
  3. Lav Diaz’s “Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis,” 
  4. Brillante Mendoza’s “Ma’ Rosa,” 
  5. Paul Soriano’s “Dukot,” 
  6. Eduardo Roy, Jr.’s “Pamilya Ordinaryo,” 
  7. Gil Portes’ “Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermano Puli,” 
  8. Roderick Cabrido’s “Tuos” and 
  9. Lav Diaz’s “Ang Babaeng Humayo.”

Post a Comment Disqus