At the press conference with the members of the International Competition Jury.

Bryan Singer, President of Jury, mentioned his personal experience working as a driver of a bus for mentally disabled children when he was in college, about his autistic cousin, and spoke about how he was able to relate to the story depicted in Nise – The Heart of Madness.

He also spoke about the challenge he faced in the selection process. “I come from independent filmmaking so I understand the challenges. The conflict I had with Tran (Anh Hung), for example, was with Cold of Kalandar.

As an American it was too slow. I wanted to be entertained like with works such as God Willing. But I remembered the challenges of filmmaking, and filming in the mountain side, I understood why Tran was so passionate about it.

As a director, the achievement was truly superior and I felt good about the award.”

Tokyo Grand Prix: Nise – The Heart of Madness (directed by Robert Berliner)
Special Jury Prize: All Three of Us (directed by Kheiron)
Award for Best Director: Mustafa Kara (Cold of Kalandar)
Award for Best Actress: Gloria Pires (Nise – The Heart of Madness)
Award for Best Actor: Roland Møller, Louis Hoffman (Land of Mine)
Award for Best Artistic Contribution: Family Film (directed by Olmo Omerzu)
WOWOW Viewer’s Choice Award: Cold of Kalandar (directed by Mustafa Kara)
The Audience Award: God Willing (directed by Edoardo Falcone)

Asian Future
Best Asian Future Film Award: The Island Funeral (directed by Pimpaka Towira)

The Spirit of Asia Award
by the Japan Foundation Asia Center: Director Degena Yun - A Simple Goodbye

Japanese Cinema Splash
Best Picture Award: Ken and Kazu (directed by Hiroshi Shoji)

Samurai Award Director Yoji Yamada, Director John Woo

ARIGATO Award Kirin Kiki, Akihiro Hino, Suzu Hirose, Mamoru Hosoda, Li

Post a Comment Disqus