Teams from Visayas and Mindanao faced tougher competition during the first elimination leg last March 22-23 on the pristine sands of Bas Dako Beach, Moalboal, Cebu. Among them were the defending champions from Central Philippine University of Iloilo (CPU) and the University of Visayas (UV) who both qualified for the women's and men's division respectively.

In the women's division,

It was a battle of wit intelligent play between University of Mindanao Tagum (UMT) and South Western University (SWU) .The players struggled to out-maneuver the other to land the top spot and clinch the regional title. Enduring the crisp heat of the sun, UMT powered by Lourdilyn Catubag and Karen Kay Quilario got the best of SWU by putting the ball where it matters rather than going for hard hits. Joining UMT in the top 6 and advancing to the finals in Boracay on April 18-20 are SWU, CPU, Jose Maria College (JMC), University of Southern Philippines Foundation (USPF) and University of San Carlos (USC).

In the men's division, 

The UV power duo and defending champions Jade Becaldo and Mike Abria dominated Mindanao State University (MSU) Tawi-Tawi pair of Aga Tailuddin and Nur-Amin Madsairi, 21-15, 21-15 and landed the top spot in the regional championships. The top 6 teams who will go to Boracay for the national finals are UV, MSU-Tawi-Tawi, University of San Jose Recoletos (USJR), USPF, UMT and Holy Cross of Davao College.


Post a Comment Disqus